Race of Champions-Finals

The format for the Race of Champions Finals will be dual, head-to-head, single elimination races with prize money awarded to the final three women and the final three men.

The Championship Races qualify racers for the finals. To qualify, participants must be among the top 32 male and 32 female racers based on NASTAR Team Points. Team Points are handicapped within age and gender groups so younger and older racers have an equal opportunity to qualify for the finals and compete for the overall win.

Competitors that qualify for the Race of Champions (RoC) Finals will be seeded by their Team Points and put into elimination brackets. The handicap earned during the championship races is used to set the differential between each pair of racers. There are pro style start gates and start lights on each course that change from Red to Yellow and then Green, similar to automobile drag racing. The start gates and lights operate independently based on the differential between the two racers.

For example; if racer (A) has a 20 handicap and competes against racer (B) with a 5 handicap, racer (A) would get a 15% head start before racer (B) gets the green light. The two competitors race to the finish line and the first racer to cross the finish line wins. The finish time differential between the two racers is announced and the winner returns to the start to compete in the next level of the bracket. The final four male and female racers compete for the overall win and cash prizes.

Video of Start Gates

* Prize Money Breakdown

Platinum Division
1st Place:          $750.00
2nd Place:         $500.00
3rd Place:         $250.00

Gold Division
1st Place:          $500.00
2nd Place:         $250.00
3rd Place:         $100.00

Silver Division
1st Place:          $300.00
2nd Place:         $150.00
3rd Place:         $75.00

Bronze Division
1st Place:          $200.00
2nd Place:         $100.00
3rd Place:         $50.00

(Equal prize money for Men and Women)


Former NASTAR Commissioner Bob Beattie introduced side-by-side dual racing in 1970 when in founded the World Pro Ski Tour. Spider Sabich was a U.S. Ski Team star at the time but Beattie recruited Spider to be the poster boy to promote the new style of alpine racing. Spider was the Pro Tour Champion in 1971 and 1972 and the Snowmass race arena was named in his honor. The NASTAR National Championships will take place in the Spider Sabich Race Arena. We think Spider and Bob would be proud to see so much head-to-head racing taking place at Snowmass.


With the inclusion of dual-panel racing in the U.S. Alpine Championships, the FIS Ski World Cup, World Alpine Championships, Olympic Winter Games and the World Pro Ski Tour - introducing fans and athletes to this exciting head-to-head format of ski racing is a top goal for NASTAR.


* prospective student-athletes may accept prize money based on their place/finish at a competition, provided the money does not exceed their expenses in those events during a calendar year or sport season.